British Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) System: Facilitating Gulf and Jordanian Visitors


Sign In

British Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) System: Facilitating Gulf and Jordanian Visitors

4 months ago (01 August 2023)



The British government's recent announcement about the Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) system, scheduled for gradual implementation in late October 2023, has garnered significant attention. The ETA is poised to streamline the travel process for citizens of Qatar, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Saudi Arabia, Oman, Bahrain, Kuwait, and Jordan, making it easier and more cost-effective for them to visit the United Kingdom.

Introducing the British Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) System

The Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) system, introduced by the British government, is an electronic entry requirement that aims to simplify the visa application process for certain countries. The ETA allows eligible citizens to apply online and obtain authorization to travel to the UK without the need for a physical visa.

Key Phases of Implementation

The British ETA system is being introduced in several phases:

   - Phase 1 (October 25, 2023): Citizens of Qatar can apply for the ETA, marking the initial stage of implementation. On             (November 15, 2023): ETA becomes mandatory for Qatari citizens traveling to Britain.

   -Phase 2 (February 22, 2024): The second phase includes UAE, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Bahrain, Kuwait, and Jordan                 citizens.

   -Future Phases (Later in 2024): The British government plans to extend the ETA system to other visa-exempt countries,          enhancing the convenience for a broader range of travelers.

Reduced Fee for ETA

One of the key highlights of the British ETA system is its affordability. The required fee for obtaining the British ETA is set at a nominal £10, making it a cost-effective alternative for eligible travelers. This fee is significantly lower compared to other entry options, such as the Electronic Visa Waiver (EVW) for Gulf citizens (£30) and the regular visitor visa for Jordan (£100).

Enhanced Travel Flexibility

The British ETA offers a substantial advantage over traditional visas as it allows multiple entries for a duration of two years. This added flexibility enables travelers to make multiple visits to the UK within the specified validity period without having to reapply for authorization each time.

Aligning with Global Trends

The introduction of the British ETA system aligns the UK with other progressive countries that have already adopted electronic travel authorization systems. Nations like Australia, the USA (ESTA), Canada (eTA), and the upcoming EU's ETIAS have successfully implemented similar systems, streamlining the entry process and enhancing border security.

Boosting Tourism and Bilateral Relations

The British government's decision to implement the ETA system is driven by multiple factors, including promoting tourism and strengthening bilateral relations with Gulf and Jordanian nations.

Contributing to the UK's Tourism Sector

Gulf and Jordanian visitors play a crucial role in the UK's thriving tourism sector. In the previous year alone, approximately 790,000 visitors from Gulf countries traveled to the UK, contributing an impressive £2 billion to the nation's economy. By simplifying the entry process and reducing costs, the British ETA is expected to attract an even higher number of tourists, further boosting the UK's tourism industry and economic growth.

Strengthening Bilateral Ties

Beyond economic benefits, the introduction of the ETA system is a testament to the UK's commitment to fostering stronger ties with Gulf and Jordanian nations. By facilitating smoother travel experiences, the British government aims to create a welcoming environment for visitors, encouraging closer diplomatic and trade relationships between the countries involved.


The British Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) system represents a significant step forward in simplifying the travel process for citizens of Qatar, the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Bahrain, Kuwait, and Jordan. With its cost-effectiveness, travel flexibility, and alignment with global trends, the ETA is set to outperform other entry options. By making the UK more accessible and attractive to Gulf and Jordanian visitors, the British government is laying the groundwork for a prosperous and mutually beneficial future.

Fill the below form and one of our team members will contact you within 24 hours.